What is a paraprosdokian?

A paraprosdokian is a figure of speech in which the latter part of a sentence or phrase is surprising or unexpected in a way that causes the reader or listener to reframe or reinterpret the first part.

1. If I agreed with you, we’d both be wrong.

2. War does not determine who is right – only who is left.

3. Going to church doesn’t make you a Christian any more than standing
in a garage makes you a car.

4. The last thing I want to do is hurt you. But it’s still on the list.

5. We never really grow up, we only learn how to act in public.

6. Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit; Wisdom is not putting it
in a fruit salad.

7. I didn’t say it was your fault, I said I was blaming you.

8. Whenever I fill out an application, in the part that says “In an
emergency, notify:” I want to put “Doctor”.

9. The voices in my head may not be real, but they have some good
ideas!

10. I discovered I scream the same way whether I’m about to be devoured
by a great white shark or if a piece of seaweed touches my foot.

One thought on “What is a paraprosdokian?

Leave a Reply

